go ahead, clap your hands.

I read the following post and wondered that this is how Phoenix is born, a super creature emerges from the ashes of death, loss, and destruction into a magnificent being. When one reevaluate his reality and stand up on his own feet and break the chains and look up and beyond and continue living. Marvelous.

rarasaur

I finally held Dave’s death certificate on Monday night.  It shouldn’t have been a shock, but it was.

I flinched.
I cried.

It reminded me of the game my little brother loved:

Are you afraid of a monster this big?  He’d ask, arms outstretched, as wide as he could reach.

No, I’d claim.

Are you afraid of a monster thiiiiis big?  He’d ask, hands and arms only shoulder width apart now.

No, I’d assert.

Then are you afraid of a monster thiiiis big?  His hands were less than a foot apart now, right in front of my face.

No, I’d say.

Are you sure? He’d goad. Hands still in front of my face, holding the shape of the smallest invisible monster he’d shown me yet.

Yes, I’d say– confident in the way that only a small child can be– and as soon as I staked…

View original post 626 more words

Leave a Reply

